love

Published February 6, 2011 by veryjaneeyre

Love hurts whether it’s right or wrong….
-What The Hell,
Avril Lavigne

I watched The Last Song yesterday.

My only excuse was that I was bored and being tortured with basketball on tv, so I grabbed the laptop and called up my sister’s Netflix account. To be fair to me- she was the one who added it to the instant queue, I just clicked play. I knew what to expect, both in the way of the plot line (I read the book) and Miley Cyrus’ acting (I’ve seen multiple episodes of Hannah Montana;  I’m not proud). Minor spoiler– as with any of Nicholas Sparks’ works, someone always dies, so of course I cried.

The point of all this: Greg Kinnear’s character says that the hardest thing in life is giving/receiving love. To which I said, “Huh.” The more I thought about it, the more it makes sense.

I feel love and tend to give love rather freely. For the most part, I even express love fairly well, with the few exceptions where I don’t have the courage to do so but wish desperately that I did. I hadn’t really given thought to the other side of the coin, although I do think it involves some bravery to let oneself be loved. Especially by those who haven’t been in our lives since childhood.

“Just because somebody doesn’t love you the way you want them to, doesn’t mean they don’t love you with all they have.” – Author Unknown

“It hurts to love someone and not be loved in return, but what is the most painful is to love someone and never find the courage to let the person know how you feel.”

