please stop stabbing me

Published February 25, 2011 by veryjaneeyre

I woke up feeling ill this morning.

It was not your typical I feel blah and icky kind of ill, it was more like a Why am I being stabbed with this sharp pain? kind of sick. It dulled a little as I went through my morning routine, but was brought back with a vengeance after a couple of hours. I think that my sullen mood did not help matters much. I was still firmly ensconced in the disappointment of last night, which is what happens when you get your hopes up about spending time with someone outside your normal surroundings and they don’t show.

So, there was that, added to the fact that I consumed more alcohol (and food to combat the alcohol) yesterday than I have in a really long time. I wasn’t hungover- there was no nausea, just pain. It took me a few hours to realize that the pain was emanating from my stress point right below my ribs. So I was sick from stress? I don’t know, I couldn’t think of anything to be causing that amount of pain. I joked that my liver was staging a coup.

I never am able to hide my feelings that well. My coworkers could tell right off that bat that I wasn’t feeling great. I wasn’t even going to lie about it either, I just didn’t disclose the whole truth about my emotional upset. Of course, by the end of the afternoon, the pain was so sharp that I started to become a little concerned. I’m sure I didn’t help matters by not eating lunch, but the pain was too distracting to even think about eating. McDonald’s temporarily killed the pain, although it’s making a resurgence as I type.

To recap: I’m in pain because: a) no show upset me, b) my stress level/potential ulcer was acting up or c) I’m coming down with Bieber fever. See video above as a symptom.

