hear me now

Published April 6, 2011 by veryjaneeyre

…my mouth kept moving and my mind went dead.
-Waiting For The End,
Linkin Park

I heard Linkin Park’s “Waiting For The End” on my way home tonight. I sang at the top of my lungs to override the feelings that got shoved at me the last time I sang this song.

That time I had been singing semi-quietly to myself, but he was close enough to hear me. Part of me wanted him to hear, to understand that I meant the words that I was singing- I know what it takes to move on; I know how it feels to lie…– and to know that, I too, was waiting for the end.

Instead, he seemed to take umbrage with the song and a little more than halfway through, he felt the need to remind me that I wasn’t being silent. Shame me into being quiet, is what he did. That’s mostly why I haven’t said more than a handful of words to him in the last few weeks.

My words may have annoyed him, but his words hurt me.

