do you feel me? i feel you.

Published December 12, 2011 by veryjaneeyre

And you asked me what I want this year
and I’ll try to make this kind and clear:
just a chance that we’ll find better days.

Better Days, Goo Goo Dolls

It’s my Piscean nature to absorb the emotions of the people around me.

This always backfires because I pick up the negative emotions more readily than the positive, upbeat ones. And they stick with me for awhile. Of course, I probably do it because I’m more than happy to deny my own emotions. Hey, if I don’t feel anything, it can’t be used against me, right?

To complicate matters, I can’t stand to see others hurting. Damn empathy. I will always speak up, offer a shoulder to cry on, an ear to listen, moments of my time to hopefully help someone feel less alone, less unhappy, less afraid.

It used to scare me to be that person. I tend to be a sympathetic crier, so that can be a bit awkward, but emotions don’t terrify me as they once did. For the most part, people aren’t looking for a solution, they’re just looking to be heard and understood.

I can do that for you, if you let me.

